About ISIMS Society

The International Society for Ion Mobility Spectrometry is a non profit organization with the following purposes:

  1. Promote the use of ion mobility spectrometry (IMS) and ambient pressure gas phase ion-molecule chemistry as an analytical technique.
  2. Promote education on IMS theory and practice.
  3. Provide opportunity for the free exchange of ideas and information on IMS through yearly conferences, poster sessions, vendor exhibits, and publications.
  4. Encourage the spirit of unity and cooperation among Society members to advance the Society's objectives.

Membership is extended to anyone, in particular to all scientists, engineers, management and sales personnel, and university students who are interested in the development and / or application of IMS as an analytical technique or are interested in ambient pressure gas phase ion-molecule chemistry. Membership in the Society is automatically granted to those attending the annual conference. Membership may also be purchased separately for those unable to attend the annual conference by sending an email to isims.society(at)gmail.com


The policy-making body of the Society is the Board of Directors consisting of Officers and Members-at-large as voting members. The members of the board of directors are listed below.

President Wolfgang Vautz
President Elect Maggie Tam
Past President Robert Ewing
Secretary Hilary Bollan
Treasurer Tom Limero
Treasurer Brian Clowers
Webmaster Osmo Anttalainen
Sponsorship Coordinator Herb Hill
Sponsorship Coordinator Lourdes Arce
Nomination Officer Hartwig Schmidt
Technical program Officer Paul Rauch
Journal Editor  Jorg Ingo Baumbach
Member at large 1 Brian Hauck
Member at large 2 Andreas Walte


If you would like more information on the Society and the annual conference please send an email to isims.society(at)gmail.com